top of page

A New Definition of Calling

What is my calling?


This is a question I have wrestled with for a really long time, and I am sure at one point in your life, you have too. I came into my freshman year of college with an elementary education major. I knew I would be a good teacher, especially after doing an internship at an elementary school my senior year of high school. I loved the kids, I loved the school atmosphere, and I loved the idea of having a daily routine. 


Although I knew I would be a good teacher, I lost my desire to be a teacher once I got to Taylor. I realized I am interested and skilled in other areas in my life, and I hadn’t explored other options than teaching. I stressed and worried and felt so discouraged. I thought there was something wrong with me for not knowing my calling. I thought I should have everything planned out by now, and I became so fearful that I had lost touch with God. I started to ask for advice from my family and friends. I so badly just wanted someone to tell me what to do, or have an “aha” moment from God. I asked God for clarity, but still felt lost. I imagined God shaking his head at me in disappointment. 


Then, someone directed me to the Calling and Career Office, a place that I then knew nothing about but I now find so much joy in. I set up an appointment with Amber Stanley through Handshake (check this app out!) which helped tremendously. Amber is a woman I believe everyone needs to know, and she spoke to me with grace and freedom. I told her where my heart was and how lost I felt. She encouraged me to dive deeper into my interests and skills that gave me joy. My eyes were opened to a whole new meaning of calling. God’s calling for each individual may not be a specific career. It may be a series of different jobs that have multiple callings within them. I used to imagine my calling on top of a mountain and I had to climb and work and earn that calling, and if I didn’t reach it, I would fail. What I have learned, though, is that my calling every day is to live this precious life for our Savior, growing closer to our Caller, not our calling. I am called to love Him and love others today. I am called to serve the needy, love my enemies, and encourage those around me who feel lost. I am called to a relationship with Christ. I am called every single day to live in freedom because He died on the cross for me. When I keep my eyes on these daily callings, God will lead me to my ultimate “calling” as well as lead me to Him.


Once I realized these things, I felt a heavy weight stripped away from my heart. I recognized my love for helping others, specifically through one on one conversation. I ended up switching my major to psychology, after considering literally every major Taylor has to offer, in hopes to pursue a career in school counseling. I am not saying that I know this is my calling, but it is something I feel at peace about right now. My heart may change, and that is okay. As of now, my calling is to enjoy what I am learning in this new major and connect with others along the way. God may take me along a completely different route than counseling, but I am no longer fearful of the unknown for my future. In no ways am I perfect. I definitely had a period of time during quarantine where I thought about going back to education, then considered applying for a school in California, and even went on a tour for a beauty school in my hometown. I look back and laugh at myself. I was confused and curious, but always knew in my heart that Taylor is the best place for me to be right now. 


I look back on this wild journey and am filled with a thankful heart. If it weren't for this time of uncertainty, I would have never gotten connected to the Calling and Career Office and gotten a job here. It has been a joy-filled place to be, and I already know the people I work with will have an impact on me forever. I see God’s purpose for my struggle now. I definitely did not see it at the time, but I see so clearly now. Never hesitate to reach out to the Calling and Career Office. You will truly be blessed.


With joy,

Kacy Bragg

Recent Posts

See All

In Celebration of Slow

I dislike the presence of unread emails in my inbox. I appraise my days by what I accomplish. My understanding of my identity is all too...

Comments


bottom of page